As the only museum in London dedicated to a minority group, the Jewish Museum explores Jewish heritage and identity as part of the wider story of multicultural Britain. The museum offers a dynamic cultural experience in four permanent galleries, special exhibitions and events in which the Jewish story is of contemporary relevance to our visitors.
The Jewish Museum was founded in 1932 by Professor Cecil Roth, Alfred Rubens and Wilfred Samuel. Originally located in Bloomsbury, it moved to an elegant building in Camden Town in 1994. The London Museum of Jewish Life was founded in 1983 as the Museum of the Jewish East End with the aim of rescuing and preserving the disappearing heritage of London's East End. The Museum expanded to reflect the diverse roots and social history of Jewish people across London, including the experiences of refugees from Nazism. In 1995 the two Museums were amalgamated. Between 1995 and 2007 the combined Jewish Museum ran on two sites. Following years of planning and fundraising the museum bought a former piano factory behind the Camden Town site and raised the required funds to combine and remodel the buildings. The new Museum opened to the public on 17 March 2010.
The Jewish Museum holds outstanding collections of Judaica and Jewish social history incorporating Jewish ceremonial art, contemporary Judaica, prints and drawings, objects reﬂecting everyday home and working life, and photographic and oral history archives. Our collection of Judaica is one of the finest in the world, awarded Designated status by the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council, in recognition of its outstanding national importance. Widening access to the collections is a major priority which we aim to achieve through digitisation and online projects, providing a global platform through which to view the Museum’s treasures.